Categories: News.

One event not to be missed in 2018 will be the party celebrating almost 50 years of Round Britain marathons. It has not exactly been a regular date in the powerboat racing calendar – during its 50 year history the race has only actually occurred three times – 1969, 1984 and 2008.


Getting ready for Round Britain 1984

The first epic sponsored by the Daily Telegraph was won by Scandinavian rally driver Timo Makinen, accompanied by Brits Pascoe Watson and Brian Hendicott aboard the outboard powered ‘Avenger Too’, and they completed the 1459 mile distance averaging 37 knots.
The second Round Britain followed almost twenty years later in 1984 and was supported by Everest Double Glazing. Italian Fabio Buzzi in ‘White Iveco’ secured the winner’s trophy in that one ahead of Colin Gerv-Brazier’s ‘The Legend’ and Renato Della Valle’s CUV ‘Ego Lamborghini’.
A whopping 47 competitors entered for the 2008 Round Britain marathon which started at Portsmouth going to Plymouth, Milford Haven, Bangor, Oban, Inverness, Edinburgh, Newcastle upon Tyne, Lowestoft and back to Portsmouth. Although Fabio Buzzi was one of the main supporters of the race, the Italian maestro was struck by misfortune as his boat the red ‘FTP’ lost outdrives after hitting an old war-time submarine defence system off Portsmouth. The 2008 winner was ‘Blue FTP’, a Buzzi monohull powered by three Fiat Powertrain engines with a crew of Vassilis Pateras, Panos Tsikopoulos and Leftteris Vasiliou and their navigator Britain’s Dag Pike, one of the best chartmen in the business at that time.


Round Britain winner in 1984 was Fabio Buzzi in ‘White Iveco’

Fabio Buzzi’s ‘Red FPT’
The Round Britain Commemorative Party will take place during June and will be staged at the Grand Harbour Hotel, Southampton. It is expected to attract competitors who participated in any one of the three races.